08
Jun
09

Neurotica

Happy Monday everyone. As y’all know I’m working to get my writing groove back. Thanks for so many wonderful suggestions. Some folks mentioned smaller writing goals and fun writing projects as a way of whipping myself back into fighting shape. I’m happy to report these techniques worked! I finished 4K words on my WIP titled, “Married or Gay.” Woo hoo!

One of the writing projects I worked on to loosen up and have a little fun is a collection of poems I add to from time to time called Neurotica. Below is my latest offering. Hope y’all enjoy it. And since I’m feeling brave, I posted the entire Neurotica collection on my website. Check it out! 🙂  http://cindyjacks.com/neuroticanit.aspx

01-29-06_1210-771230Over Him

Two dresses

White satin

Red silk

Tags dangle, never removed

Invisible stains

Regret and shame

Snatch them—hangers rattle

Push them down

White plastic stretches

A garbage bag full

Garments no longer loved.

But I still love the dresses.

Bind up the bag

Cast it away

A rusting yellow box reads, “Donations.”

But I still love the dresses.

Silent forgiveness

He is weak.

5 Responses to “Neurotica”


  1. June 8, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Very nice. Obviously, the schmuck cheated or left her. I’m not sure if I’d be go so forgiving. (grin) Well, I might forgive, but I wouldn’t forget or stay with him. (grin)

    Marci

  2. June 8, 2009 at 10:40 am

    It’s a poignant way of explaining part of the healing process following a break-up. Nicely written.

    Carpe Noctem,
    Des

  3. June 8, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Your a lot nicer than me Cindy! A beautiful poem of loss and forgiveness. My mean streak would have come out and my healing would have been shredding his clothes. LOL

    Becc

  4. June 9, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    That’s deep chica, but I’m with Marci on that forget and forgive thing. 🙂

  5. June 10, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Thanks so much for the thoughtful responses, y’all 🙂 The poem is about a break up and, yes, he did cheat on me. I forgave, but I didn’t take him back. A friend of mine who’s a Unitarian minister told me, “Forgiveness isn’t something you give the other person. It’s a gift you give yourself.” That’s always stuck with me so I try to give myself that gift…when I can, lol. Believe me, there are times it’s a struggle.


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 17,287 hits

