01
Jun
09

How Should Cindy Get Her Groove Back?

Okay, so May was not my most productive month for writing. First, my son came down with the flu…then, I did. The illnesses were followed by his birthday, houseguests, and his preschool graduation. Needless to say, I’m exhausted. But since I wrote all of 2000 words last month, it’s time for me to get back on the proverbial horse this morning, but I’m having a hard time doing it. I know I’ll get back to my usual 1000 words a day; it’ll just take some time. So, here’s my question to all you writers out there: When you’ve had an extended break from writing, how do you get your groove back?

10 Responses to “How Should Cindy Get Her Groove Back?”


  1. June 1, 2009 at 9:46 am

    It is difficult, going straight back to a 1,000 words a day when you’ve been away for a while sounds a bit daunting. So rather than count words, set yourself smaller goals, such as today I’ll write a paragraph, a page, or so many sentences. Let your mind wander when you’re doing housework or taking a walk, you might think of something for your characters or the next scene in your book.

    I sometimes set a cooking timer for an hour at a time and in that hour, the only thing you should be doing is writing. No surfing, emailing, telephoning and every thing else that helps you procrastinate 🙂

    It might work for you.

    take care,
    Annette

  2. June 1, 2009 at 9:56 am

    I’m with Annette. Smaller goals and ones not completely focused on word count usually help me get back into the swing. I like to use a CD as my timer. I pick out one that matches the mood of what I’m writing and I write until it’s done playing. Then I put the laptop down and go do something else for a bit.

    Chandra

  3. June 1, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I’ve got the same problem right now, and I’m going to tackle it by doing a NaNoWriMo style month with a good writing friend of mine. We actually did NaNo together before, and we know we can get each other motivated and fired up by doing word wars and brainstorming over chat.

    Elle Parker
    http://elleparkerbooks.blogspot.com/

  4. June 1, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Use this:
    http://lab.drwicked.com/writeordie.html
    It’s surprisingly effective. I was actually shocked to see that it had a real positive impact on the word count I managed to come up with in a short period of time. I think it would really help you get back in the proverbial saddle.

  5. June 1, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    I pick up a book I admire and start reading… about half hour later I’m at the keyboard, raring to go. Don’t know why this works, except that it seems to motivate me.

    -Rita

  6. June 1, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Although I do not write often, I have to tell myself the story must be done by a certain time or it won’t be submitted. That usually inspires me to write 5k or more words in less than 2 days. That may not seem like a a lot to you, but for me, it’s equivalent to a 90k novel. LOL

    Perhaps you need to play with it. Try writing the worst possible thing you can think of, something so bad that you are laughing as you write it. Perhaps a passage so full of purple prose you gag. (grin) Eg. He adored the way she lavished such loving attention on his mighty sword. “Oh,” she cooed. “I must have never seen such a beautiful member in my entire life. And you are so big and strong…” And so on. (grin)

    It’s finding the fun in writing again. You’ll find it.

    Marci

  7. 7 graysonreyescole
    June 1, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Yeah, I know this will put me in the minority–again–but I leaf through my WIPs and pick one that matches my mood. Then I start working on it. Then once I’m warmed up, I pick up the thing I should be working on assuming that it’s different from what I picked up.

    –GRC

  8. June 1, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Wow! All great advice, guys! Grayson, I actually do the same thing. I write what I feel like writing until I get back into my usual disciplined writing schedule. And I’ve set some reasonable for this week 🙂 Thank you, everyone, for so many thoughtful suggestions!

  9. June 1, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Just stop what your doing Missy and set your butt in that chair!

    And no email or google searches until you do your word court for the day. Then and only then can you go online. *shakes finger*

    Set small goals five hundred word count to start until you work up to your word goal, or until your muse takes over and you forget word count, what day it is and if you have diner to cook.

    It happens *Shrug*

    Janice~

  10. June 2, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Sometimes just typing notes about the story I’ve planned will kick my butt into gear and the next thing I know I’ve written a good chunk of the story. Also reviewing stories gets me back into writing my own. Of course there’s nothing like a deadline to motivate a person. lol

    Cassie


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 17,193 hits

