21
May
09

Books That Make You Cry

Last night I read a book that had me in tears. I was crying so hard I had a hard time reading. I went to bed, still crying.  When an author can pull that emotion from you, you know they are great at their craft. Some day I would love to have that kind of impact on a reader. To know that they connected so much with my characters they feel their pain.

ARSENICANDRIO-227x361Now you probably want to know what book I’m talking about. It is by one of my top favorite m/m authors, DJ Manly. This is the third book of his that I’ve read (not counting the four I’ve read that he co authored with AJ Llewellyn) and all of them are so full of emotion, but this one…this one broke my heart.

Arsenic and Rio by DJ Manly. Here is a blub from the eXtasy site:

When Marshall met Hal, it was a match made in hell. Hal is a first class con man and manipulator. Marshall is the perfect pawn, a young guy who has been abused all his life, with no self confidence. Hal is pure evil, and he recognizes gold when he sees it. Marshall is handsome, gay and desperate to be loved and accepted. Hal is a former resident of the detention center where Marshall is living. He knows the unscrupulous director, who is deeply in debt with the mob. When the director is asked to do the mob a favor, a job that will set Hal up for life, Hal recruits Marshall to help him carry out his diabolic scheme.

When Marshall meets the handsome young owner of a coffee plantation, his job is to seduce him, and secure the plantation for the mob. Marshall doesn’t truly understand that Angelo will have to die. Marshall is completely unprepared for Angelo, and completely unprepared for love, something in his sad life, he has never known.

Passion and despair reign as Arsenic and Rio sweeps the reader away to a coffee plantation high in the mountains of Brazil, and to the warm sands of Rio.

If you’d like to read an excerpt here is the link: http://www.extasybooks.net/ebjmsite/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=ebook_flypage&product_id=3941&category_id=12&manufacturer_id=0&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=44

So, have you read any books that have made you cry?

4 Responses to “Books That Make You Cry”


  1. 1 sandra
    May 21, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Jambrea I’m with you on this book. It was fantastic! my favorite of DJ’s…it too had me crying and I would love to check back and see what is happening with Marshall and Angelo. They were great characters and while reading I really did feel their pain and thats why I think I loved the book so much because these were such strong characters.

    If you want to read another of DJ’s books like that you MUST read The Russo’s! Let me tell you I actually had to stop reading that at one point because I was crying so hard I couldn’t continue…but then I did finish finally and although it was not the way I wanted it to go, it was another DJ great! If you read it let me know what you think, because it hit me so hard I am curious to see how another reader feels about it.

    sandra 🙂

    • 2 jambrea
      May 21, 2009 at 2:29 pm

      Thanks Sandra. I know I’ll be reading more of DJ’s stuff…but like I said…I have to wait in between. lol

      And yes…it is a VERY hot cover!!!

  2. 3 sandra
    May 21, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Damn, but isn’t that cover HOT!!!

  3. 4 Tairin
    August 6, 2009 at 1:31 am

    This best book of D.J.Manly, i read alot but after this book i just can’t start new one for long time. The next best of this aftor for me is Borderline.


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 17,193 hits

