15
May
09

The Beginning

littlemeI won’t be on the internet for at least five or six days starting tomorrow night, steadily anyway. So I decided to post today instead of Sunday. If I can get to a library or visit a relative with the internet I will.

I chose to name this post the beginning. A new chapter of my life is about to open up. I’ve made the decision to move to North Carolina from Connecticut. Several reasons influenced this decision, but I won’t bore you with facts you probably don’t care to know.

As I got to thinking about beginnings, I started thinking on the way things were when I just got to college, when I wrote for free and published on Adult Fan Fiction. I wrote all originals except for one limp chapter based on 300 characters that never went anywhere. I started thinking about my first post, on my first blog. Turns out its still there and here is what it says:

The Pains of Writing

Stephen King says in one of his books, and I can’t recall which one, if you want to write then write. So I write. It is far from easy, and I would challenge anyone who says it is to write a chapter or two. I’ve never been a planning type of person so I write off the top of my head, but frequently I get writers block. You’re like ready to rip your hair out when you’re typing along and your mind goes blank. Anyway, I’ve recently joined this site called adultfanfiction.net. The reader response is very welcome and I’m excited that people actually seem to like my work. It makes me write more, and well, I’m getting over my writers block a lot faster these days.

Sage

My first post was short and sweet, and even then I knew this writing gig would be an uphill battle. The thrill of writing hasn’t worn off, though some days the interest in writing is virtually nonexistent. I still am elated to have reader feedback, although I’m not quite sure if the audience reading my books are shy because of the subject matter, or what. I’ve said before, and I’ll say it again. If there is a line in the sand I’ll be the one to poke and prod it and see if I can cross it without losing a finger.

It’s been over two years since I started my first fumbling attempts at writing seriously. I have grown so much. I have brought honor to my grammar teacher, who would have winced if she could see what I was doing in 2007.

When asked what was my greatest achievement in life, I always say that it was my writing. So far, as I have no kids, my stories are my babies. I’ve been telling stories since I was a tot. My Beginning was storytelling and it will very likely be with me in the end. So what fond memory of first times come to you? What are you most proud of? What memorabilia have you saved to remind you of that special moment when you began?

0 Responses to “The Beginning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 16,298 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

