07
May
09

Writing Slump

Kinda sorta.  I’ve been doing a lot of reading.  I think it started when I was in such a rush to finish my story Magnus. I entered it in a contest and there was a chance I could be asked for a full and it had to be 80k.  Well, I reached 46k and I’m on the down slide of Mag when I stopped.  I realized I would have to REALLY get into Mag’s emotions.  His woman was kidnapped and tortured. How would he deal? How could he deal?  I have NO idea!  lol I couldn’t write. I was stuck. He got her home from the hospital and then…and then…I got nothing!  So…I went on a reading binge.  It helped and I went to try for Mag again and I thought…okay…where do I go from here? What’s next? How do I wrap up the story?  So I sent it to a beta.  Found out…she thought it was too violent.  Okay…now what?  I sent it to another beta to see if SHE thought it was too violent too.  She’s still looking at it so I don’t have a verdict yet. 

Let me tell you a little about Mag.  He is a Marine.  Ho-rah! He has a small elite team that he takes on missions for the government. He is introduced to his first female recruit and is told she will go on missions with the team. He is NOT happy.  Especially when she keeps screwing up!  Not to mention the sexual tension between the two.  It’s off the charts.

Now let’s talk about his woman. She is more then he knows.  Emily is an undercover NCIS agent.  She is sent in to find out if Mag and his team are behind the kidnapping of woman and children in third world countries and selling them into the sex trade.

So Emily is a tough character and a great match for Mag, but…what happens when she’s hurt?  I guess I’ll have to find out!  lol

I don’t have to reach 80k now. Mag didn’t make the Editor’s Choice and I was never contacted about a full so he’ll be as long as he needs to be.  UM…heehee.  You know what I mean.  lol  I’ve decided to pitch him at Lori’s to Samhain!  We’ll see what happens.  🙂

3 Responses to “Writing Slump”


  1. May 7, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    What have you been reading?

  2. 2 jambrea
    May 7, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Let’s see. I ready all of Carol Lynne’s Good Boy’s series, all of her Cattle Valley series and all of her Campus Craving series. I also read JR Ward’s new one about Rhev. Then I read a few from over at Samhain Publishing. Um…Tamed by Lynne Maris, Tooth and Claw by Annemarie McKenna. I just finished two of JL Langley’s cowboy series and I have the third one open now. Um…there might have been a couple other in there too! lol

    See…reading binge. lol

    I think I had a couple beta reads in there too. heehee

  3. May 8, 2009 at 6:31 am

    Sometimes you’ve just got to walk away from a book for a while and let things simmer. But don’t wait too long. Try sitting and just writing, letting your mind go. Write about your characters, what situations they might find themselves in and see what happens.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 17,287 hits

