27
Apr
09

A Little Help from My Friend…

kd-olLast week was a tough week for me. As the polite but boilerplate agent rejections pour in, I’ll admit at times this author has trouble keeping her hope afloat. Yes—-I know, it’s not personal. Rejection doesn’t speak to the quality of the manuscript, but still, the doubt-monster creeps in from time to time. It’s then that I have to remind myself why I write in the first place.

Sure, I’d love millions of loyal readers, big fat advances–so fat that I can buy my own Caribbean island and maintain a stable of male concubines–but I digress. In reality I write because it’s something I love to do. Words bubble and flow inside me, ideas reveal themselves in a flirtatious fan dance around my mind. I love to write and I love to tell quirky, funny, sexy stories for others to enjoy.

But sometimes, even once I’ve completed my mantra of “the story is the journey” 200 times, I’m still down in the dumps. That’s when I turn to my author soulmate: PM’s own Kensana Darnell. She invariably picks me up, dusts me off, and says, “Everything is okay.” And I believe her. Then she makes me laugh. The writing lever clicked into place and I started working up a storm this weekend. So, I just wanted to give a shout out to Miss Kensana….I definitely can’t get by without a little help from this friend. Love you, girl!

7 Responses to “A Little Help from My Friend…”


  1. April 27, 2009 at 9:06 am

    It’s so important not to take those polite “thanks, but no thanks” messages personally. Of course there are days when you wish you’d get SOME good news. My first novel had so many rejections I all but gave up until it was eventually picked up by an up-and-coming publisher hungry for fresh blood.

  2. April 27, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Ah, those rejections! Kudos to you Kensi, we can all use a friend like you. Here’s a little thing I watch when the rejections get a bit overwhelming:

    Check it out!

    🙂 Rita

  3. April 27, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Now you’ve done it, I’m crying early this morning and my mascara is running, it’s truly a sight. 🙂 You are always welcome darlin. You’ve done it for me more times than I can count. Anytime I can return the favor…smooches!

  4. April 27, 2009 at 9:10 am

    Oh God Rita, I’ve seen this one several times myself. It does help on occasion. 🙂

  5. April 27, 2009 at 11:55 am

    This business can be hard. Learning to pick yourself and dust yourself off will eventually show you to be the winner. Keep plugging away and keep your eye on the goal. It will come. 🙂

    Marci

  6. April 27, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Do I suck?

    I’ve asked myself this question many times. Reading some of my favorite author’s works and WISHING I could write with a tenth of their talent. Then a fan of one of my stories will contact me and tell me they like my stuff and I’ll be all like, “Heh, maybe I don’t suck “suck”.” My point is you don’t suck. People like your work. You’re a talented writer. Even this post was interesting and well written. 😀 We all go through these phases where we second guess our ability to write. Rejections can increase the doubt, but don’t let it get to you. I think I heard an editor refer to an acceptance being about the right editor, time, place, and mood. I think its safe to apply this logic with agents too. Basically it might not even be the quality of your writing but the content. Like a reader who only reads heterosexual romance, Agents have got their standards–the type of material and subject matter that they will read, and they aren’t going to budge. One day you will find that agent in the right mood, looking at the right-subject matter (yours) and they will send you an acceptance letter. Until then I’m glad to see you won’t give up on your craft. Some of the best advice in life can from a cartoon. Dora from”Finding Nemo” said, “Just keep swimming.”

  7. 7 jambrea
    April 29, 2009 at 6:55 am

    I’m a firm believer in, “If it’s meant to be, it will be.” Your time is coming Cindy and you’ll find the right agent for you! I agree with Sage. Just remember…we are here for you and…woohoo! Kensi is pretty great.


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 17,287 hits

