09
Oct
08

Entry # 3: Moonlight Invitation by Faith Bicknell-Brown

After visiting various sites in Bulgaria throughout the day, my best friend and I spent the evening drinking coffee laced with liquor and playing Yahtzee.

Jazzed from the caffeine rush, I walked the country lane to my cottage. A full moon hung silver and pregnant in the ebony sky, and a great-horned owl hooted as I passed the oak in the garden. I startled, danced sideways and tripped over a barrel of blooming flowers.

            Chagrinned, knowing that sleep was hours away, I hurried inside and flipped through the cable channels. Oh, a vampire movie, wonderful! I watched The Lost Boys and devoured snacks that I’d bought in the village.

Later, tired of television, I braided my hair and retired. Moonlight streamed through the open bedroom window. A night insect screeched on the sill. I covered my head with my blanket, muffling the annoying sound.

            The insect grew silent. I raised my head, listening. A breeze soughed through the window. The locals’ yappy dogs had quieted too. Flipping the blanket back, I lay there mulling over weekend projects as I enjoyed the silence and cool breeze.

            The footsteps outside my window urged me bolt upright in bed. Long sure-footed steps walked past my room and dissipated. Who was outside? Would one of the locals or a neighboring guest rob me?

            Moments later, the footsteps rounded the opposite corner of my bedroom and stopped under the window. I pulled the cover over my head, my heart slamming painfully. Fear buzzed in my ears, and I held my breath. The footsteps moved behind the cottage again.

            Shaking, I slipped out of bed and padded down the hall to the back door in my nightgown. A broom, propped against the doorframe, beckoned me. I snatched it up, but what a pathetic weapon.

            With my hand on the doorknob, it occurred to me that in horror movies it’s always the idiot who sticks his head outside only to have it ripped off. So why was I stupid enough to poke my head out the door, exposing myself, armed with only a broom?

            I shoved open the door and peered outside. Moonlight bathed the garden. The flowers in the barrel nodded in the zephyr. Footsteps rounded the cottage again, and my pulse thundered. The noise ceased. I stood still, straining my ears for any sound.

            The wind kicked up stronger, and soft thumping sounded in the distance. Shaking my head at my silliness, I recognized the noise as the rhythmic drum beat in the village two miles away. Each night, from dusk to dawn, the menfolk took turns beating on the drum to chase away evil spirits. The wind had brought the sound over the hollow, distorting it, convincing me that someone stalked my rental.

            Laughing, I bowed and said, “Do come into my home.” and tossed the broom back against the doorframe. I shut and locked the door.

            A glass of water in my hand, I crawled into bed. Not only did caffeine jangle my senses, but an adrenaline buzzed throughout my body. I sighed and rolled over.

            Glowing amber eyes blinked at me. I screamed and jackknifed over the side of the bed. His black clothes and ebony hair were virtually undetectable in the dark room, but those bright, cat-like eyes and glistening fangs told me his identity. My joking invitation sealed my doom as Prince Vlad of Wallachia violently embraced me.

            As I stand here beneath your window, I find I’m growing very thirsty. Won’t you please invite me in?

15 Responses to “Entry # 3: Moonlight Invitation by Faith Bicknell-Brown”


  1. October 9, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Cool story Faith. Good luck with the contest.

  2. October 9, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Loved it! You are good!
    Trinity

  3. October 9, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Oooo… nice ending! Obviously, not a very smart protagonist. LOLOL

    Marci

  4. October 9, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Faith this story gave me chills. 🙂 Good luck to you!

  5. 6 jambrea
    October 10, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Wow! Great story and I agree with Marci! What an ending

  6. October 10, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    Loved it, Faith!! Always a twist to your stories. lol.

  7. 8 Janice Seagraves
    October 18, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    That gave me a chill too.

    Janice~

  8. October 18, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Wonderful evocative imagery. And a surprise ending. I love a good twist!

  9. October 19, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    This is my favorite time of year. I love this. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Kissa

  10. October 25, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Ooh very creepy! I loved the last line! 😀

    Great story, Faith!

    Rae

  11. October 25, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Faith. It takes a lot of creativity to have your reader fall into the clutches of a story in such a bite-sized tale. You’ve taken such a willowy frame and enhanced the curves with the drapery of a cling to the skin, silky sheen robe. Who wouldn’t be lured into your doorway? Loved this short.

  12. October 27, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Wow! Thanks everyone! The comments have made my day!!!

  13. October 28, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    What great little tale. 🙂 I hope you win!

  14. 15 Sassy Sipe
    October 29, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Great story… very cool.
    Good luck!
    Sassy


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 17,243 hits

