09
Oct
08

Entry # 1: ONE MORE TIME by Lynda Ashantay Peters

“Eeeek!”

 Selene brushed rubbery slime from her slim, bare shoulders, spun around, narrowed her silver eyes and glared.  “Scorpio, you know I hate the feel of gummy worms.  Gross.”

            Scorpio, dressed as Death Warmed Over, offered an unrepentant smile.  “You looked too serene.  I know you’re itching to confront Catherine over her choosing your lifetime for tonight’s party.”

            “You don’t have to remind me,” Selene snarled.  “As if that bit…uh, biddy, had the strength to live Cleopatra’s life.  She wishes.  Hmmm, maybe I should ask her to kiss my Asp.”  Selene smiled and wiggled her realistic fake snake.

            Scorpio shuddered.  “And you complain about gummy worms?”  He leaned against the wall and surveyed the room.  “Oh, look, two Napoleons strutting toward each other.  Wonder if Wellington’s here?”

            “I don’t know why I attend Leo’s Come As You Were Reincarnation Ball.  It’s always full of famous faces.  Where are the servants?  We couldn’t all have been famous every lifetime.”

            “You have the same complaint every Halloween.  I don’t see you coming as a stable boy.”

            Selene ignored the gibe.  “I see Elton finally stopped dressing as Mozart.  It’s about time.  We all know that was one of John Lennon’s lives.”

            “Elton does make an accurate Beethoven.  But don’t try sidetracking me.  I know you’re waiting for Mark Antony.  Maybe he’ll show this year.”

            “I hope so, but with my luck, he’ll choose Catherine.”

            “Sweetie, if Mark doesn’t recognize you, he’s not Mark.”    

             Bolstered by Scorpio’s loyalty, Selene brightened.  “That’s what…who is that?”

            “Who, where?”

            “Just follow the eyes of every female in the room.  You’ll see.”

            Scorpio swiveled.  Posed in the doorway was arrogance on the hoof.  The newcomer’s short curly hair topped a strong featured face with large almond-shaped eyes, a Roman nose and straight yet sensual lips.  His leather breastplate and short tunic covered well-developed muscle.  An air of dominance punctuated the whole package.

            “I’m just venturing a guess here,” Scorpio whispered, “but isn’t that Marcus Antonius?”  And not a moment too soon.  “I wonder what name he’s using this lifetime.”

            Mark’s eyes sought and found Selene’s across the room.  Recognition exploded as they leapt into a combined awareness and cosmic embrace.  Selene felt the rush of soul mate energy hit her just as Catherine swiveled up to Mark.  Catherine placed her hand on Mark’s chest, attempting to interrupt the energetic clinch.

            “Sweetie, it’s good to see you, again.”   Catherine smiled at Mark. 

            Mark looked down his nose at Catherine, remaining silent.

            “Don’t you remember me?  Cleopatra?  We were lovers?”  Catherine’s voice shook.  “I killed myself after you died.  Remember?”

            Mark’s lip curled.  “Yes, I remember you as Octavia.  You always were a sore loser.”  He brushed past Catherine, strode to Selene, bowed and held out his hand.

            “My dear, I believe this is our song.  Would you care to dance?”

            Strains of Cyni Lauper’s Time After Time flowed into the room as Selene accepted his hand and said, “Yes.  Let’s go around once more.”

END

3 Responses to “Entry # 1: ONE MORE TIME by Lynda Ashantay Peters”


  1. October 9, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Very nice Lynda. Good Luck!

  2. 2 jambrea
    October 10, 2008 at 9:19 am

    I like the past life angle. Very nice.

  3. October 13, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I was gonna say very nice, but nope… There have been two very nices already… so I’m going off-tongue… sehr schoen!


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 17,193 hits

