29
Sep
08

In Defense of Writer’s Block

Brighid: Jacks, darling, I don’t know what you’re so upset about.

 

Cindy: You know very well what’s wrong. Ana’s been asking you for months now to finish up her saga and you keep putting her off. And you’ve been putting my priorities off for that matter.

 

Brighid: Now, that’s simply not true. I just needed some time to figure out her motivation to move forward in the story. We got quite a bit done this weekend.

 

Cindy: Motivation? What are we ‘method writing’ now?

 

Brighid: Don’t be silly, but I’m not going to throw together a plot just because you set some arbitrary deadline to finish the ms.

 

Cindy: Heaven forbid. Still, why do you have to put the brakes on production like that? It’s downright scary for those of us who live by the word.

 

Brighid: Have I ever let you down? Pull up a chair my dear authoress; let me explain to you a little about this so-called ‘writer’s block’.

 

Contrary to the widely held belief that unless you’re clacking away at the keyboard, you aren’t creating, the storylines you’ve been working on still continue to develop when you aren’t actively thinking about them. It’s part of our muse bag o’ tricks. Even once you’ve brushed your teeth and turned in for the evening, we muses are hard at work, wining and dining your characters to get the scoop on where the story needs to go.

 

And that you are such an anal little plotter, Jacks, doesn’t help. Yes, when you first sat down to write this series of stories, you had a very clear idea of who Ana was and what course her life should take, but she changed on you. She grew in ways you didn’t anticipate in the past year so you have to give yourself a little time to fully understand how she’s changed. Don’t get me wrong. Pantser authors are no easier to work with than plotters. It’s just as easy for you all to lose your way.

 

Of course there is a huge difference between a glitch in production and truly not being in the mood to write, but that has more to do with you, my dear, than it has to do with me. Your human frailty does limit how much you get done in a day. PMS, sleep deprivation, illness, your lovely man naked in bed or a really good football game on TV all mess with your desire to create. But I can hardly be held accountable for your distractions. I do, however applaud your discipline. Since you’ve implemented your thousand-words-a-day philosophy, you’ve had few dry days. You may not work on the WIP you’d like to work on, but you almost always produce something of value before the day’s over.

 

So you see, Jacks, between your regimented approach to writing and my sheer genius, it’s been ages since we’ve contended with a true bout of writer’s block.

 

Cindy: I suppose you’re right, Brig. I never thought of it that way…But seriously, are we going to finish the first draft of Point of Distraction the Final Collection this week?

 

Brighid: [sigh] You didn’t hear a word I said, did you?

 

Cindy: Yes, I did. Well, most of it. I did drift away for a second when that commercial with the really hot Latino guy came on, but other than that, I was right with you.

 

Brighid: Oh hell, I stopped paying attention when that commercial came on. He is just too delicious. Maybe we need to create a character based on him. Hmmm…maybe we could make him a fireman. Oh yes, I’m liking this idea…[walks off deep in thought]

 

Cindy: Brig—Brighid, no. No! No more characters, no more new ideas until you finish…Damn, she’s gone. Well, folks, since my muse has abandons us, I suppose that wraps up her day here at PM. But rest assured, I’m going to get the end of Point of Distraction out of her come hell or hot Latinos!

 

Stay tuned…

6 Responses to “In Defense of Writer’s Block”


  1. 1 jambrea
    September 29, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Gotta love Brig! lol Smooches to both of you!

  2. September 29, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Smooches back atcha 😉

  3. September 29, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Pay attention to Brigid, Cindy–she sounds SMART!

  4. September 29, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Brig always has something good to say….Finish that story…..go go go

  5. September 30, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    That’s my Brig! Always on the ball. 🙂

  6. 6 sandie
    October 2, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Yeah Cindy. Pay attention to cindy. I like her and the way she thinks.

    sandie


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 17,287 hits

