15
Sep
08

Presenting Brighid

Let’s see, when did Brighid and I first meet? I think it must’ve been sometime during junior high school. I mean I’d always liked creative writing, but eighth grade was the first time I ever sat down with the objective of writing a novel so I figure that had to be Brighid whispering in my ear (that was before she got her hands on a bullhorn). And in case you’re wondering, I do still have samples of writing from those days for nostalgia purposes but no one’s prying those out of me, not even from my cold, dead hands.

 

Anyhoo, the quality of my work back then (or lack thereof) had nothing to do with Brighid’s talents and everything to do with just the typical teenage penchant for melodrama. But Brig never gave up on me. She kept nudging me, calling to me, screaming at me to write something of some significance. She used to drive me nuts (who am I kidding with the phrase ‘used to?’) Finally she suggested, nay—demanded—that I stop wasting my time performing process audits and start taking my gifts and her suggestions a liiiiiiiittle more seriously.

 

 What I’ve been able to ascertain about her history prior to me is spotty. I mean, I know she’s an ancient Celtic goddess who’s responsible for fertility, poetry, childbirth, battle and a great many other things. I know she’s temperamental, set in her ways, and must be offered champagne on a daily basis (lucky for my liver, she has her own supply), but I know there’s much more below the surface. For example, when I’d been give some tickets to a Rolling Stones concert, she insisted we couldn’t go because Mick Jagger has a restraining order out on her. Who knew you could take out a TRO on a muse? I’d consider it myself, but she is the source of my writing sooooo nix on that idea.

 

Another time she surprised me with her near encyclopedic knowledge of Mexican wrestling—los luchadores. Through the whole movie, “Nacho Libre,” she pestered me with running commentary on the liberties Jack Black had taken with the ‘art form.’

 

Now that we have a WIP about the Roman god, Bacchus, I’ve learned that she and the God of Intoxication are old friends. Okay, I’m not really shocked by that, but still…there’s so much I don’t know about her. And I’m interested to find out what she does with her time off. Playground Mystique should prove just as informative for me as I hope it is for all of you.

 

All right I’ll say this one time, and one time only (so you’d better enjoy it, Brighid) I honestly don’t know what I would do without her!

7 Responses to “Presenting Brighid”


  1. September 15, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Well Brighid sounds very interesting……..by the way Mexican wrestling is sorta hot…..

  2. 2 jambrea
    September 15, 2008 at 10:03 am

    *big wave* Hi Brig and Cindy.

    Oh Cindy…I know somethings about Brig, but I can’t tell you. *giggle*

    -Heather

    I can’t wait to hear more about Brig because she sounds like so much fun and I’ll see if I can have a talk with Heather.

    -Jambrea

  3. September 15, 2008 at 10:05 am

    I think I ran into Brighid in Vegas last year! She was sipping champagne and ranting about Mick Jagger. Maybe that’s what she does on her time off!

  4. 4 Kensana
    September 15, 2008 at 11:34 am

    There you are my sweet. You are my classy goddess.
    Luv ya,
    ~Gideon

    Oh Brig your life is so exciting. I want to hear more.
    ~Kensana

  5. September 15, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Brighid: Thank you everyone for the warm welcoming. And Heather…you know what happens in PM, stays in PM! My authoress is just a delicate human after all.

    Cindy: Uh, thanks, Brig. I think. And yes, Rita, you probably did run into Brighid in Vegas, lol.

  6. 6 sandie
    September 17, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Cindy, I enjoyed reading about Brighid. And I loved the “Who knew you could take out a TRO on a muse?”

    ROFLOL

    sandie

  7. September 17, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Hee hee…I’m sure there are a lot of other writers out there who would love to take out a restraining order on their muses, lol. Thanks for stopping by, Sandie!


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 17,193 hits

