06
Apr
09

Cindy

  The Bread Dough Diaries–Epiphany #1

Today I thought I’d share with you a new blog series I’m working on called The Bread Dough Diaries. With the help of a couple insightful friends (Thank you, Kensi and Muriel!), I realized that cooking and baking are integral to my writing process. Now, before you accuse me of cat-vacuuming–and believe me, I can cat-vacuum with the best of them–my culinary endeavors give me much needed meditation time. I have the best ideas when I’m away from the laptop with my hands covered in flour while I knead like a mad woman. Yesterday was no exception.

cleanimageI’ve been struggling a bit to complete the plot outline for the second book in the Clean series, titled Devil in the Details. But yesterday, as I worked the gluten in what would become a five grain loaf, I had that gorgeous ‘Eureka!’ moment. It turns out that Boris took a blood-stained handkerchief from the target of a hit because…..y’all didn’t think I was really gonna blurt out a spoiler like that, did you? Ouch, ouch! Stop flogging me! Sorry, I’m a story tease, I can’t help it! Want to know more about the Clean series? Drop by CJ Elliott’s website. There are some blurb-a-licious excerpts and even a sample chapter from the first book!

Viva the Bread Dough Diaries. Check ‘em out each Monday on my blogs to find out what CJ and I are up to for the week!

5 Responses to “Cindy”


  1. April 6, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    Hey, Cindy,
    I get what you mean… most of the time, my eureka moments come while I’m engaged in some mindless activity like ironing or doing household chores.

    Clean2 sounds awesome BTW!

  2. April 6, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Thanks, Rita! It’s nice to have DJ’s voice in my head again. I’ve missed her. BTW, I’m looking forward to your monthly chat on April 13th at http://www.ritavetere.com/chat.html Your chats always rock :)

  3. April 6, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I run into plot dead ends all the time. The only thing that helps, usually, is talking to my wife. Either Elizabeth will come up with something or I will, just by talking about it out loud. “They’re in the underground world, Luminor has five guards present with guns, they’re going to execute them. We have only five good guys, none of them are armed, Sania is tied up with silver wire so her vampire powers are gone, the Master of Lake Gulia has never been in a fight in his life, and Alysa is a little girl. I can buy Milo and Gunelda possibly taking out one guard each. That leaves three. The good guys take out two guards and the other three shoot them. Wasted effort. How can I get them out of this?”

    Lay out what the problem is. Think about how you got them there. Think what they have available to them. Could things have gone differently? What is around them that might help? Extra points if it’s something you already had in the scene, so you’re not tempted to cheat with a deux ex machina…

  4. April 6, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    You are very welcome my darlin. :) You and that bread dough has helped me out of more tight spots than I’d like to admit. LOL Love the dairies chic. Keep on kneadin’!

  5. 5 jambrea
    April 8, 2009 at 10:57 am

    That’s great Cindy! I usually get my ah ha moment in the shower! lol I can’t wait for the new Clean and I’m so glad DJ is talking again. She is SUCH a great character.


Leave a Reply

In the Author Spotlight at PM Yahoo

23 Apr 09 - Nyki Blatchley

Looking for our Authors?

Come over and chat with authors Kensana Darnell, Cindy Jacks, and Jambrea J Jones at Amethyst Winters http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ playgroundmystique
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 16,530 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

